LE STONE

Regarding the surgery I had yesterday…

Evidently, the anesthesia is still coursing through my brain because I cannot recall if I told y’all that I had a kidney stone.  It would be easy enough to click on something and see if I posted about it but, due to the fact that I’m not allowed to do ANYTHING for the next two days, I’ve been sitting here at the computer for the last two hours and have like, sixteen windows open and don’t wanna open another one.  And since it’s too taxing to go into the whole schpiel, I’ll just tell ya.  I had a kidney stone.  It was 5mm which is considered a decent-sized specimen.

I remember now, I told you about watching the fireworks outside the ER.  So I’m covered.

Anyway, I had the surgery yesterday afternoon.  Yesterday morning I had an MRI done on a suspicious breast mass.  (A post for later.) Yeah, I’m a virtual train wreck these days, but whatever.

I was to be at the second hospital at 11:30 for the procedure scheduled at 1:00.  The prep included an IV to administer the anesthetic, something to relax me which I turned down but they gave me anyway (a whole ‘nother topic…) and a strong antibiotic to fend off infection (on top of the other strong antibiotic I’m already taking for a UTI.) I only had one arm left which hadn’t already had an IV in it, so choosing an arm to put it in was pretty easy.  They also gave me a breathing apparatus which was described to me as a little box-type thing they put down my throat to ease my breathing. I’m real happy they put that in after I was out cause I don’t think I would have cared much for that. The actual procedure was expected to take 20 minutes.  Of course I was “complicated.”  My stone was embedded in the tissue of the ureter and took 3 laser zaps to blast it loose. (I hate using words like zaps and blast when referring to my insides… but that’s how they explained it to me.)  At one point my BP fell to 80-something over 40.  Why did they have to go and tell me that?  Luckily though, the stone all came out and they didn’t have to put a stent in which I fussed about anyway and wouldn’t sign the permission form until someone promised me there was no metal in it (the stent.)

stone_1c

Like I said, the procedure was supposed to take about 20 minutes.  They took me a little after 1:00, we left the hospital somewhere around 5.  That anesthetic must have been some pretty good shit cause I don’t remember ANYTHING for about 4 hours.  I do remember that the anesthesiologist was kind of cute but he lost his ID tag.  I can’t remember his name anyway.

The remnants will be analyzed to find out what type of stone it is and hopefully that will tell me what I need to change or do to save me from ever having to go through this again.  I guess certain types of stones are more likely to recur.

So today, besides the CONSTANT urge to [insert your choice of word for R-E-L-I-E-F] I’m pretty sore and very tired.  My only dilemma (hopefully) for today is deciding what to watch or read and whether to do it in bed or on the couch.

13 responses to “LE STONE

  1. fattiefatterton

    Poor darling!! Hope you have a speedy recovery!!

  2. Sorry you had to go through that, but glad they gave you good drugs! YAY DRUGS. 🙂

  3. Bravo! You gave the pathologist something to look at! 🙂 Seriously, I’m happy you made it through unscathed-much. A FYI from a person that worked in medical for 15 years, the gas-guys are always good looking and ready and willing with the good drugs.

  4. LG: Thanks, I’m workin’ on it.

    Amigo: You betcherbutt. Thanks.

    Tim: OMG, you left a comment! I’m touched beyond words. Thanks. He was and he was. I don’t recall a wedding band, either ;-P

  5. Sounds unpleasant. Be prepared for the doctors to tell you to stay away from everything good in this world…I was told to stay away from colas, tea, chocolate, nuts…it went on and on. Did I, you ask. Hello no! So far so good, it’s been around 6 or 7 years since my ordeal. I hope you have a speedy recovery.

  6. You should just relax. Lay around reading a Rolling Stone, listen to some Martin Page (House of Stone and Light). Ooo and make sure you wear a former Steeler Dwight Stone jersey. Hell, while you’re at it, get stoned.

    rest up 🙂

  7. Merciful heavens, girl. That sounds really complicated and that 5mm stone is nothing to sneeze at. I am so sorry you had to endure that ordeal. Get better fast!

  8. Bailey Girl: Thanks for the “insider” info and warning.

    My Son: I am relaxing. The fear of internal hemorrhage is a great tranquilizer… I’m reading Summer of ’42 and Spin. Listening to Galt Aureus and wearing scrubs. LOL on the jersey. IDK who that Dwight person is. Thank you for permission to get stoned.
    I forgot about Martin Page. I think I have a cd around here somewhere…

    Scott: Thank you for your concern. Sneezing is something I’m trying not to think about… 😉

  9. holy crap! that’s why you were home, i didn’t know you were getting surgery. you should tell me next time up front so i can pray for you silly goose. i know, i know you don’t want to WORRY anyone but i enjoy worrying about those i love.

  10. P’let: It was all over the Internets, I thought you knew… LOL

  11. At least you didn’t wake up in the middle of the procedure, like I did. Of course, once the nurse saw I was awake her immediate response was “Oh, would you like some morphine?”
    Do you have to ask? Who doesn’t like morphine?

    I’m glad you’re doing OK, now. I’ll keep you in my prayers

  12. Michael: Oh. My. Heavens. When they told me how low my BP went, I knew I had to have been in some serious pain and was glad to have been out.
    I feel pretty darn good today, save the prayers for something important. Thanks and hugs!

  13. sometimes i miss the forest for the trees 🙂

Leave a Reply

