NO TITLE COMES TO ME

If this were the kind of blog and I were the type of person to address current events, there would be a bunch of crap here about The Debate and The Bail-out and that sort of thing.  But it’s not and I’m not so let’s talk about something else, shall we?

I never finished the posting about the end of The Airborne Toxic Event show.  I’ll try to put it in a nutshell.  Not sure if I said this or not but I’m not a fan of The Fratelli’s, which was the headlining band.  But Michael and I stayed and gave them a fair listen.  I did particularly like one of their songs (the title escapes me) and 2 or 3 others were good.  Just about near the end of their set, I saw Daren, TATE’s drummer walking toward me and crooked my finger at him and he got a big smile and came over.  I was sitting on a step leading up to the sound booth and he told me not to get up (he’s kind to old ladies)  and leaned down and said “So how did we do?  You know, compared to…?” (I assumed he meant the Fratelli’s)  I said something like “They paled in comparison to you guys!”  and he seemed happy to hear that.  From what I remember of our conversation, I told him that I hope their iminent fame wasn’t going to affect them in a bad way or something to that effect.  He said, “You know, I think about that a lot.”  And I forget what else he said after that, dammit.  I do, however remember vividly what he said about how awesome it is to go to a strange town where most people never heard of the band and be so well-accepted.  I told him it was because the band is so approachable and friendly to their fans.  He told me how important “connecting” is to them (the band).  Whether it be on a musical level, a lyrical level or even a spiritual level, he said, there is just nothing like reaching out and connecting with virtual strangers and have them accept you.  I agreed that it must be an incredible feeling.  We talked a little longer and I told him again how great the show was and that I wished them a very successful tour and safe travels.  I stood up and hugged him kind of hard and he hugged back just as hard.  It was a “moment.” 😉  So that was that for the night.  I think.  I’m sure I left out some details but it seems so long ago now.   Although I still listen to them every day at least once because, dammit, they have some damn good music.  I read last week that they had to cut a few stops off their tour due to the Fratelli’s suffering a bereavement.

Something completely unrelated.  The Drive Thru Mo-Jo pic I posted?  I took that a couple of weeks ago and just never got it out of the camera until the day I posted it.  Today on my way home from work, I saw some construction going on there that looks suspiciously like the framing for a drive-up window.  🙂  So I’m excited again.  I hope it’s at least as good as Dunkin’ Donuts’ coffee.  In that case I will be taking advantage of being a lazy Yank and not having to get out of my car to get coffee in the am.  Right, BD?  Riiiiiight.

Going to New York this weekend and I’m rilly, rilly looking forward to it.  Ju said Madeline has a cold so we won’t be doing a whole lot of smoochin’ but we’ll still have fun.  I’m anxious to see how big Andrew has gotten (hopefully not real big) and see what he’s been learning.  He’s going to be two next month already.  Julian reminded me on the phone last night that we have to play “What Nana Says” which is a game we made up where he has to do what I say, normally something goofy but with some sort of lesson.  I have to think up some new ones for him.  Suggestions welcome.

The router finally came, so soon as PD finds time to hook it up, I’ll be able to use my laptop again.  I’m thrilled about that because I hatehatehate the keyboard on this PC.

I’m down to 13 cigarettes a day this week.  Still down two pounds.

Question for y’all.  What’s your favorite way to spend a rainy dark Fall night?

I know I had some other stuff to tell you but I need to go eat dinner.  TTYL

9 responses to “NO TITLE COMES TO ME

  1. How do I like to spend a rainy fall night. Depends really, I can say that it would usually involve a good book and a glass (or two) of wine. Depending on the temp it might be on the porch, otherwise in bed!

  2. Jeff: Oooh, that sounds so very nice. Count me in. But only on the porch ;-P

  3. It’s about time you got to the end of your Toxic Airborne Event tale. I was beginning to worry that I’d be posting about my next event (Michael W. Smith/Steven Curtis Chapman next Tuesday), before you finished sharing about yours. And that would just be sad.
    It’s the “rainy” part that throws me off on this question. I don’t have enough cover over the porch to be outside. So I’ll go with the book and the wine, but I’ll have to throw in a few candles on my nightstand.

  4. I totally and absolutely know where you are coming from when you say that you aren’t going to write about the debate or other stuff happening in the world at the moment. I am so much like that. I simply don’t have the knowledge and smarts for stuff like that. But mostly I just really can’t stomache much more of it, so that’s why I have taken to things like ‘i love my dog’ and other blogs like ‘is it okay to cry in the office’ go see – you just may have a comment. anyhooooo.

    Drive thru !! right on. Life is good.

    Emjoy NY

    Good for you with the smoking and the weight loss. What an accomplishment. You must feel good.

    I enjoy playing a game of cards with my daughters when it rains, day or night.

  5. i hope you have a fantastic time in NY. would love to see the city!! a blog friend has moved there and i love reading about all the places to eat, the pictures… i long to go. 🙂

    two years old! wow.. naief will be there in a few months. i love this time. i’m looking forward to hearing all about the trip. i can tell you’re a good mother and grandmother. that’s so wonderful. 🙂

    cold fall night??? aaawwwww… how i’d love to have one of those right about now!! i’d love to have the windows open w/ the cool air blowing in, while snuggled up in a blanket either watching a good movie or having a couple glasses of wine, some cheese… and just relaxing. 🙂 and yes, the baby would be asleep 🙂 !!

  6. i wonder if i put enough smiley faces???!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 ehehehe

  7. random thoughts….13 cigarettes is 13 too many, can’t you have 3 beers instead, or 5 or whatever but 13 of those?……..rain I know, but what’s Fall, it’s either blazing hot here or pissing rain, but anyways rainy days are lovely for a hot curry but you have to love watching the rain unless you’re not in a dry spot, I kid you not I once rode a tiny motorbike with a friend, in a torrential downpour, 1 hour into the city in the evening , to watch a movie “One Flew Over a Cuckoo’s Nest” and they all seemed sane in the movie it was my friend and me who were crazy, wet and soggy and we were shivering in the cinema but some smuggled whisky helped though they did think we were queer cos we’d stripped to our underpants , i can still feel the chill decades later…

    oops sorry, flew off on a tangent.

    *hic* it was a tiring (on my liver) weekend

  8. Rainy fall nights? Hmmm…I don’t much like them. Suppose that is why I live in L.A.

  9. cuttling up in a warm blanket watching movies and taking it easy 🙂

Leave a Reply

