HIS INTENTIONS ARE GOOD

PD has taken it upon himself to aid me in the frightful task of smoking cessation (mine).  He subscribes to the school of thought that the very best way for me to quit is to allot me a certain number of the cursed things cigarettes each day, tapering off until I’m smoke-free.  This week he’s kindly counted out 15 cigarettes each day and sends me out in the world with that much ammunition.  Next week he’ll arm me with 14 per day and so on and so on.

I hesitate to even post this information due to the fact that you wonderful people have heard so many different versions of this song and dance routine that I’m sure you’re thinking, “Yeah, right.  Here we go again…”  Yeah, well, you’re gonna hear it- and if and when I fail again, you can say “I told you so” but you can say it to yourself because if you say it to me I’ll cry.  And then I’ll try again and you’ll have to read about it again.  And so on.

I have to confess that I’m not exactly buying this method one hundred per cent.  And I’ve been honest with PD about it.  The times that I’ve tried this method before, what happens is this: by the time you get down to say, 5 cigarettes per day, those five cigarettes become the most important thing in the world and that’s all you can think about.  I feel like I wrote this before and if I did, I apologize. But that’s what I’m expecting.  In the mean time, I’m working on getting more exercise and drinking voluminous amounts of water. (Not entirely sure if I’m using voluminous correctly, I looked it up [honest I did, it’s somewhere between volcano and vomit in the dictionary] and I’m still not sure.  Anyway, I’m drinking gallons of water.  And trying to occupy my mind with prayer/song lyrics/plots to murder people who stress me into lighting up.

So.  I guess the plan is that 14 weeks from now I’ll be smoking one cigarette per day.  That ought to be quite an entertaining time to read here.

And as a side note fodder for your added entertainment in the coming weeks maybe I’ll chronicle my weight each week.  Just for fun.  Officially, today my weight is 123 lbs.  I actually lost two pounds since last week, not sure what to attribute that to…  And to wrap this up,  I would like to discourage any off-site wagering as to what the figure may be at Christmas time.  That would be funny, I know, but mean.  😉

And just because this page needs some color, here’s a recent sunset behind our house that I like.  A lot.

11 responses to “HIS INTENTIONS ARE GOOD

  1. Sunset is beautiful. Quitting smoking sucks. I’ve always said as long as I work in retail, I will smoke. Good luck with your quitting. I hope you succeed.

  2. Mind over matter, mind over matter. you can do this. If I lost 35 lbs on will power alone, you can quit smoking. Good luck.

  3. Holy crap, that is one awesome sunset!

    Now about the smoking thing. I know you have heard it before, but you have to work on that attitude! If you go into this expecting to fail, then guess what, you will. I will admit that the tapering off thing did not help me at all, but if you must follow that path you might mix it up a bit also. Next pack you buy, try another brand, preferably one you already know you don’t like. That helps when you suddenly aren’t looking forward to it. This one is hard and I tried it, but if you can, avoid caffeine at all costs, oh boy does it trigger the need! One that is really helping me right now, and by the way, yes I did start up again and yes I am in the midst of quitting, is in those prayers remember to tell God that you want to quit and with His help you know you can do it. Not only does this psych yourself up to it because now you have made a verbal commitment to God, but the best part is, He will help you! One more, when you get the urge, before you light up, read a passage in your bible or listen to an entire song before you light up, I have found that distracting myself when I have an urge sometimes works really well, I tend to forget that I wanted one in the first place.

    You know what they say, smoking takes years off your life, granted it’s those crappy ones towards the end, but if you quit, maybe they won’t be quite as crappy. You will be in my prayers during this!

  4. Bailey: Thanks for your wishes, I appreciate it.

    Lori: Wow, 35 lbs. That’s awesome, congrats to you. I will keep that in mind 🙂

    Jeff: I’m going to print your comment and keep it with me. Your caring and prayers I’m sure will help me along. Thanks, Amigo 🙂

  5. I agree with Jeff on so many counts. Don’t Give up at the beginning by expecting to fail, fight this addiction tooth and nail!
    I know somebody who used to practice magic tricks to fight off the urges to smoke. It keeps the hands occupied with incredible slight of hand, and keeps your mind off of the desire to smoke. It’s also a lot of fun at parties. Now, wouldn’t you love to be the life of the party?
    In any event, I’ll be keeping you in my prayers. And the way things have been going for me in that area lately, I expect to hear that you have this licked before you get to 5 coffin-nails a day.

  6. BTW, I think I saw that sunset. It looks kinda like the one I was watching last night.

    It took 17 minutes for the clouds to go from white, to yellow to orange, to rosey pink, to red and then to violet. Absolutely incredible!

  7. i solemnly swear that i will never use the expression “i told you so”. it’s a waste of time, and if anyone says that to you, i will be forced to beat the crap out of them on your behalf 🙂

    i’ll tell you that one of my blogger friends quit smoking recently using this book. in fact, our bastard whore friend recommended it to dave.

    imma love you no matter what tho 🙂

  8. M+: If PD’s constant remands (is that a word?) don’t convince me, I don’t know what will. I think at some point I will just throw them away to give him a rest…
    I’m not good at magic trix and I’m already the life of the party. (ha!)
    That particular sunset was actually a couple of weeks ago, but we’ve been having some great ones, huh.

    P’let:’Tis good to have you on my side. We bastard whores stick together like… well… you know ;-P

  9. Hey- Ray HAD to quit (Dr’s orders). COLD TURKEY!! With me smoking yet!! YOU can do it!! I’ll need to try again soon too.

  10. sweet pic… quitting smoking; good luck, I want to quit main reason to stop sending my money to republican tobacco farmers

  11. Lu: Hope he’s doing ok with that!

    TC: Um, yeah.
    You do like sunsets, don’t you?

Leave a Reply

