HEAD’S UP!

I have lots and lots to tell you but I want to get the messy stuff out of the way. By messy, I mean something that’s going to maybe make no sense to you but will most likely make me look, well, like an alarmist. Which is something I’m not, usually. Furthermore, I’m not prone to making announcements here unless I have what I consider to be the facts to back me up. In this case, I truly thought I was sharing true and accurate information. I am happy to report that I likely jumped the gun. According to my doctor. Here’s the scenario in case you’re joining us late.

I was having some health problems and had some tests done. When I visited my doctor to get results, he read the radiology report of my chest x-ray to me which said “chronic pulmonary emphysema,” or so that’s what my brain heard. And that’s what I shared with you. And I was pretty freaked out by the time I decided to tell y’all about it. You were all wonderfully supportive and amazingly caring. Which is why I’m a little uncomfortable embarrassed telling you this.

I had pulmonary breathing tests done two Fridays ago and saw my doctor again this past Friday to go over those results. He asked me how I was doing right off and I told him I might be ok if not for the anxiety. “What are you feeling anxious about now?” he asked me. “This,” I said pointing with both hands (fingers) at my mid-section, thinking, “Geeze, did he forget already???”

What are you talking about?” he asked me and I answered (I still choke on the word) “The emphysema. duh.” I wish you could have seen the look on his face. You know when you’ve told your kid a thousand times to wipe his feet and he’s just tracked mud the whole way across the clean floor? Was kind of like that, all incredulous-like. By now I’m totally confused and thinking he’s mistaken me for someone else. “Linda!” he yells. Yeah, yells. And shakes his head, biting his lower lip and crossing his arms while leaning back in his chair and I’m thinking There Is A Lecture Coming. Cause that’s his lecture warning thing he does. And he looks so cute when he does that. I should know, I’ve seen it enough times. His eyes are exactly the color of his blue scrubs.

To make a long story short, “signs” of emphysema and “full-blown” are not the same thing. I guess it’s sort of like you can have symptoms of cancer, as in  having  a mole that’s changed and irregular bowel habits and weight loss but not necessarily having cancer. Like that.  Anyway… my breathing tests more or less showed things that pointed in the direction of something more like asthma than emphysema.

I’ll take it.  Man, oh man, will I!

SO… I’m going to treat this as if I’ll likely have it at some point, and as Juju pointed out in the comments of that post, consider this a wake-up call. This is all I have time to write right now, but I wanted to let you know as soon as I could. You have no idea how much I appreciate all your prayers and good thoughts. I have the best blog readers in the ‘sphere. But you knew that already.

19 responses to “HEAD’S UP!

  1. Great news, Linda! The exchange between you and your doctor was good stuff. It must be nice to go to a doctor you’ve known so long. I usually go to the doctor maybe once or twice in each place we live, and sometimes not the same one. I’m sure as I add more years and have to go more often that I’ll have the “opportunity” to develop a relationship with one doctor.

  2. Didn’t meant to make that comment about me. This is your day! W00t!!

  3. PRAISE GOD!!! AND KNOW THIS, THE GOOD WORK THAT HE (GOD) HAS BEGUN IN YOU, HE WILL FINISH IT!!! Ok….I am off all caps now….whew! It’s just that…..it’s just that…. oh, go to my new post and hear some of my recent feelings. I send my love knowing that His love is greater than any that we will ever express or know ourselves!

  4. God is sooooo good !!!
    Isn’t it nice to have a miracle like this that you can share with everyone?

  5. Health is so very important. I wish you well.

  6. The question now is: what are you going to DO to improve your lung function? What does the doctor recommend? I got a wake-up call in June saying I have high cholesterol, high blood pressure and probably type 2 diabetes. That’s all I needed to hear. I’ve been exercising and dieting ever since. And it’s made a huge difference! Time to “nip it in the bud,” in the words of the immortal Barney Fife, “nip it in the bud.”

  7. Jeff: Yes, and thank you for your prayers 🙂

    Mark: Thanks. Actually, I’ve only been seeing this dr. since last August. Wish I’d found him years ago.
    You can come here and talk about you any time you like.

    Joey: Thanks my friend. I’ll go there now.

    LY: Cool, very cool. Thanks for that. You know me so well.

    M+: He is and it is, and now I’ve shared it for the whole world to see 🙂

    Jack. What an understatement. Thanks 🙂

    Bri: I’ve been walking on my breaks at work and plan to start a strict exercise program when the weather changes. I’ve been trying to round up some people to go dancing on a regular basis. Not having any luck in that department so far… And of course, my main priority is to stop smoking. And I cancelled my lunch date w/Amy Winehouse. Yeah, well. Didn’t think we’d have much to talk about now.
    Sorry to hear of your findings, but glad you’re doing better! Keep it up and lmk if you need a cheerleader.

  8. Good news! You’ve been running around in my head a lot…..does that count for exercise? I’m so glad things aren’t as bad as first thought.

  9. Natalie: Thanks, my sweet friend. Yes, I count that as exercise, and I must say, you got some pretty cool stuff in there 😉 I’ve been trying to laff more too, and OMG the mail you sent about the Olympics, I cried I laffed so hard. Thanks for that. I wish I could post the whole thing here. But the possibility of offending someone has deturd me. hehe

  10. asthma is soooo much better!!! thank goodness that’s what it is and not emphysema! my mom has emphysema and has to take oxygen and medicine several times a day. limits her ability to do a lot of things, including being able to travel long distance – hence her not being able to come and visit me… and NONE of my in-laws understand this or even try to comprehend what it means.

    i’m glad you’re in a better boat!! 🙂

    i always hate it when drs give lectures….

  11. UN: Thanks for your thoughts 🙂 I feel for your mom and it’s sad that it keeps her from traveling. That was one of my big fears.
    I don’t particularly hate the lectures. 99% of the time, it’s my own unintentional invitation. And like I said, my dr. is cute when he’s all serious. Just makes it a little more bearable.

  12. my word this is such GREAT news not only for us but all of us that love you so very much!

    very happy, very happy and i just bet i would have “heard” the same thing.

    very happy for you my friend, very happy 🙂

  13. WHEW!!! I even feel relieved for you!! You need to learn not to worry ’bout things so much 😉

  14. P’let: Thanks, thanks, thanks. 🙂

    Lu: You do? Wow. Thanks. I’m not what you would call a worrier. This is something many people don’t understand about me. I just think a lot.

  15. My goodness. Here’s to good health ! Love the details of the discussion between you and doc. Priceless. I just read your section ‘about you’ – sounds like you are a strong person being a recovering alcoholic. Good for you.

    P.S. Check out my blog – I’m new to this blogging thing… http://momofboxer.blogspot.com/

  16. BTW, I forgot to say how happy I am about this. I, too, am going to use this brush with crap I’m having right now as a sign I need to change. We’ll get through it together!!

  17. Raino: Hi and welcome to my little corner of the world. I’m sorry that you got the impression that I’m a recovering alcoholic, as I am not. I hope I never do become an alcoholic, I doubt that I’d be strong enough to recover. I will give your blog a read when time permits, thanks for the invitation.

    L’Girl: I’m thinking I will definitely need help and I’m glad to have you in my corner. We’ll do it 🙂

Leave a Reply

