MIDWEEK *HIC* REPORT

First, I think an apology is in order for anyone who was grossed out by last night’s video presentation. Surprisingly, I didn’t regret either the posting or the decision to “tie one on” as much as I thought I might.

Where do you suppose the phrase “tie one on” originated?  Well, since I’m not pressed for time (wonder of all wonders) I looked it up.  The first explanation I found is this:

It’s a British saying from the 1950s, it is a way of saying someone’s getting severely drunk.  It comes from the expression “burn one on,” which pretty much means the same thing, but is an older expression (by about 20 years). Thank you, Mindless Crap.

Which sounded lame, (sorry, MC) so I kept looking until I found an explanation that suited me.

This, courtesy of  Modern Drunkard Magazine :

First recorded in 1951, this phrase for getting smashed begs the question, “Tie what on?” Why, a bun, of course. Until the 1950s, bun was commonly used in place of bender (it still is in the U.K.). Tie a bun on/get your drink on) predates tie one on by 50 years, but when bun fell out of favor, it fell out of the phrase as well. Bun, by the way, is most likely a corruption of bung, archaic Scottish slang for intoxicated.

Okay, so maybe that was more information than we needed. At any rate, I now have a good idea where to find anything on the Internet that has to do with getting smashed/snookered/bent/plastered/sloshed/soused or three sheets to the wind.  This has all been pretty much a waste of my time, however, as I do not intend to make it a habit.  I am kind of tickled though that I found out that “crapulous” is indeed a word.  It goes way back to the 18th Century, derived from the Greek word kraipale and means drunken headache or nausea.  So the next time someone tells you they feel crapulous, they are hung over.  Thanks again, Modern Drunkard Magazine.

Please, though, let me say this.  In no way do I condone ingesting mass quantities of alcohol.  And NEVER driving under the influence.  I’m just, well, having kind of a rough week and wanted to take a little of the edge off.  I stayed in my home and there was no animal or spousal abuse involved.  I made no harassing telephone calls, kept all my clothes on.  In fact I fell asleep on the couch in jeans and a hoodie and woke up there at 8:15 am.  None the worse for wear.  Well, except for the ridiculous video of the eyeball lady. And a mild leg cramp.

And I just might stay in again tonight.

7 responses to “MIDWEEK *HIC* REPORT

  1. I need to get a me a night to “tie one on”. Good for you! Did you happen to come across the etiology of “three sheets to the wind”? Just kidding….don’t go wasting any more of your sacred vaction time!

  2. Nat: Three Sheets to the Wind~ While it’s easy to think of sheets as sails, they were actually the ropes used to adjust a sail’s position. Since most ships of the day (the expression emerged in the 1700s) had three masts, if all three sheets became untied and were blowing in the wind, the ship’s course would become very erratic indeed. Thus, being three sheets to the wind evokes the image of being out-of-control drunk and most likely drifting in the direction of Blackout Island.
    Again, courtesy of Modern Drunkard Magazine; a virtual plethora of drinking terms and definitions. lol

  3. I don’t suppose they have sh*t faced in there do they? 🙂

  4. Modern Drunkard Magazine? What will they think of next?

    Jeff, my guess on sh!+ faced would be that someone is so drunk that they’ve fallen down and landed with their face in dung. But that’s just me…

  5. I’m sorry, Wink. For as much time and effort as you spent researching this post, I probably should’ve come up with a better comment. Do forgive me.

  6. Jeff: Surprisingly, no they did not.

    M+: I guess there is an audience…
    You are granted a reprieve, my son. The forward you sent me today, however… the jury is still out on that one…

  7. it’s YOUR time off, enjoy it however you wish m’ lady!

Leave a Reply

