ALWAYS BE AWARE

When I first met PD, he was way into martial arts, self-defense and all that.  He always stressed to me how important it is to be aware of your surroundings at all times.  To make mental notes of exit doors, dark areas where bad people could be lurking, alternate “escape” routes, things like that.  He presented me with a pocket-sized cannister of pepper spray which I carried on my key chain at all times.  He also taught (and drilled) me on a custom-made-for-me plan which utilized my strengths, limited as they are, me being a skinny woman and all.  But I learned some nifty moves that could possibly save my life, or at least gain me some valuable time if I were to ever be attacked in a dark parking lot, for instance.  I also surprised him with my skill shooting at (and hitting) targets with a 9mm Taurus. (In a controlled, safe environment, of course.)  But he always stressed to me to be aware of everything going on around me at all times.  With PD, it is more like a sixth sense, ever-present and making him ever-vigilant.

Well, I found out today that I may need a refresher course.  None of this came in handy at all in the video store when I said to PD with all the enthusiasm (and just a little sarcasm) I could muster, “Let’s rent Extreme Uncensored Chickfights?!”

All the training of my past kicked in AFTER I saw the gentleman standing on the other side of PD.

On the way to the check-out, I got the nerve to look over at PD and there he was with that look on his face that I’m oh-so-familiar with.  The one that says “Look at you now!”

I’ll let you know how The Savages is (are?) after I watch it…

11 responses to “ALWAYS BE AWARE

  1. Ah, yes, the joys of the art of combat. Not-So-Emo-Bob and I also have a thing for moving with great stealth. You’d be amazed at how unsettling it can be to have a 6’2″, 270 lb. man suddenly standing next to you…

    Just out of curiosity, did PD teach you the “knuckle under the nose” manuever? Defintely one of my favorite “stop!” moves. Excruciating to the attacker, but you have to be quick with it.

  2. So I guess you would not have made that recommendation out loud had you been aware of the other gentleman?

    That’s quite impressive to hear about your markswomanship! 🙂

  3. Lol. Sounds like me.

  4. M+: You just reminded me of the gazillion times that PD has “tested” me by appearing out of nowhere, in my alarmed face. I never quite got the hang of expecting it and usually end up emitting a rather loud yelp. One of these times, he’s truly going to have to revive me.
    I’ve been taught a couple of “nose moves.”

    Fire Dude: You got my drift…
    I’m a “Lady,” you know 😉
    In public, anyway.
    Usually.

    Lawgirl: Surprise!

  5. We must be sure that our lessons have been completely absorbed. We can’t always be around to protect our ladies, so they must be able to protect themselves from time to time.
    Of course, now that you mention being “tested”, I’m reminded of Cato from the Pink Panther movies…

    So, have you ever tried anything bigger than the Taurus 9mm?

  6. I’ve shot a .22 single, .22 semi-automatic and a 38 Special. Please don’t ask me if they were Colts, S&W or whatever. I do believe the 38 was a Smith and Wesson. I liked it a lot but the 9mm felt better.

    I have my eye on a Ruger Black Hawk .44 Magnum single action with a 7.5 inch barrel.

    I’m kidding about that last part…

  7. I’m not worried about make or model, as long as you had fun.

    It’s funny you should mention the Ruger Black Hawk…
    I almost mentioned my single action, 7.5 inch barrelled .357 Mag in my previous comment, because it’s really accurate. You’d enjoy it. But my S&W double action snub-nose .357 tends to jam up every so often.

    What? No comment about Cato or the Pink Panther movies?

  8. Oh we are talking about shooting in here. I prefer long arms myself. I have shot several small arms though. I did shoot a 44mag once, ONCE. My wrists have never been the same. I admit to being a little weak in the wrists to begin with, but dang that sucker had some power!

  9. i’m not much on the shooting range, i’ve tried a few times but i couldn’t get past that i was holding an actual gun in my hand. it was surreal.

    as for always being on the lookout, this comes very natural to me. i can scope a room, find the quick exits and potential items to be used as a weapon. i just do it automatically. i reckon i was borned that way 🙂

  10. Gave me a good laugh, you xtreme chick, you.

    I’m only aware of my surroundings if I’ve had a good breakfast…if I have a poor breakfast the whole world shrinks into this narrow, blurry tunnel, I can’t even see 5 feet ahead.

    It’s an addiction, I need my breakfast. Worst thing is it’s not time yet for breakfast, it’s still tonight and breakfast is tomorrow, if you know what I mean.

  11. Raggy: No one ever called me Xtreme chick before. I like it!
    And, my goodness, you made me laugh. I needed that like you need breakfast. xo

Leave a Reply

