THINKING CAPS

You’ve probly noticed my favorite quote down there on my side bar…

“The only true currency in this bankrupt world… is what you share with someone else when you’re uncool.” ~ Lester Bangs

Tell me what this means to you.

9 responses to “THINKING CAPS

  1. It means that trust and feeling are the only things that matter. When you die, the only thing that remains is the legacy of happiness and pain that you have inflicted upon others….

    or something like that.

  2. I totally agree with this world being bankrupt, somewhere along the journey our appetites have led us astray and fed us a lie of what is true hunger and a genuine filling. How am I to pass on truth from the truth that is being taught? The reproduction of the redemption has taken us farther from what is pure, and has left us penniless. Yet, when all has been spent, and our hands and hearts are empty, only then can we find the unadulterated words that our soul longs to hear. And within those words, we shall find what we cannot find with our hands to fill an empty heart.
    Joey Davis

  3. It means I sat here for several minutes trying to figure out what it means to me, only to find out that I am mentally bankrupt at the moment.

  4. It’s like that one other quote about not judging people and things when they are at their worst, but giving them grace in that space. We mustn’t kick one another when down.

  5. It means to drink beer with dorks and pick up the tab.

  6. for me, it means to be authentic and human.

    those are my favorite things about people.

  7. Hey “Buddy” 🙂 Good to hear from you. Have a great weekend. I have 2 new post that I am working on over the next two days. Catch’em if you can. Peace always 🙂 🙂 🙂

  8. The only things that we can ever really possess, that have any true value, are those intangible things which we have in common with others. Our shared experiences and our ability to express both joy and pain with one another are the only things that are worth trading with anyone.

  9. I recently finished a term as a student government officer. In a matter of a few days, my incoming e-mails went from 30-40 to 5 or so. That’s kind of the norm, I guess, and you don’t end up talking to most of your former colleagues nearly as much as you used to when you needed each other for things. There is one guy, though, that I still talk to just about every day… so I guess right now, I see it as when you suddenly find yourself in a friendship that transcends whatever roles you play to the outside world. There was one person who still had use for me even after I ceased to be cool.

    Lester Bangs was an icon of cool in the music critic business, but once in awhile would shed his public persona to share a real moment with someone (I forget the kid’s name… it’s been a couple of years since I’ve seen the movie). Kind of inspiring as I now find myself between roles and suddenly… uncool.

Leave a Reply

