PRAYERS, PLEASE?

My Sweet Leetle Seester Hazel is scheduled to have surgery tomorrow (Tuesday) morning. She’s got a herniated disc and is having that nifty surgery where they go in through your neck and I think, replace the bulging disc with a piece of cadaver bone that acts as a plate. (The link may not be exactly what I was looking for. Time constraints, you know…) You’ll have to forgive me if I don’t have this exactly right. I’m not one to grasp things that make me squeamish. I will be talking to her later hopefully and if this is wrong, I’ll post a correction. I only found out about this last night as Hazel is very stubborn and doesn’t want family members to know she’s been in excrutiating pain for almost a month rather stingy tight-lipped about her personal problems. No, we’re not much alike… And yes, I should call her more often.

Anyway, I asked her if she minded if I posted about the surgery and she laughed and said I could. I know some of her fans read here. So please, keep her in your thoughts today and if you can spare a prayer, it would be appreciated. Thanks. I’ll keep you posted.

Update: Turns out I was pretty close with the link. The procedure Hazel’s having is an Anterior Cervical Discectomy and Fusion. This link gives additional information. Here is a video of the surgery that I found for those of you who get into that sort of thing. Click on the prompt in the upper right hand corner of the page. You’ll have to let me know how it plays out. I, unfortunately, do not fall into that category. I’m also assuming that it may be of a graphic nature, so consider this your warning.

Update update:  As of Tuesday @ 5:40 pm, Hazel’s surgery went fine and she is doing well.  I’m sure she’d love to hear from you.  She’s in ********* Hospital in Rm. **** and her phone number is ***/***/****. 

17 responses to “PRAYERS, PLEASE?

  1. Hi..
    Quit worrying about your health. It’ll go away.

  2. HB: WTF??? I’ll worry about my health if I damn well please. And just where do you think it’s going?

    Akismet must be on vacation ;-P

  3. Ah the joy’s of spammers.

    Anywho, she was added to my prayer list, you are still on it!

    Gd bless,
    Jeff A

  4. I have had herniated neck disk pain: NO FUN. Muscle relaxers didn’t work. I always suggest that if it gets to the point where surgery is a serious option please consider acupuncture along with physical therapy first. It may sound silly at first but I speak from experience. It helped my herniated neck disk. At the risk of sounding like a spammer also consider a pillow I invented that alleviates my disk problem when the pain reappears: The SquidFace & ComfyRest pillows. Lying on my back or facedown it corrects the herniation and alleviates the pain. It helps people with back pain also. It is strange but it works wonders. SquidFace.com

  5. Jeff: Thanks Amigo. You’re a Pal. 🙂

  6. Sorry that I have been gone for days!!!! As Hazel is healing, I pray that she know the down of wings that bring her healing accompanied with peace and rest (Malachi 4:2).

  7. Joey: Thanks on behalf of my sister. “…healing accompanied with peace and rest” you say. Funny, her wish was to leave the hospital today and go straight home and catch up on all the sleep she’s lost since her troubles first began, a little less than a month ago.
    We missed you 🙂

  8. Keeping all of yinz in my prayers. Glad to hear the surgery went OK.

  9. she must’ve made it since i didn’t read this until just now. had i prayed she probably would have ended up with a sex change. it’s good to be late sometimes.

  10. Thanks for the well-wishes. I’m feeling better.

  11. Hazel: YAY! Answer your phone. 😉

  12. Shes all hopped up on vic’s. She recently was talking about Jon Bovi….

  13. Bo: LOL She must be really out there… You’ll keep a pretty close eye on her, then? If she starts on Tony Orlando or Barry Manilow, give me a call.

  14. I think Jon Bovi is a very common transposition of consonants. Who of you out there hasn’t mistakenly said Jon Bovi?

  15. OMG Hazel… I missed the whole point of Buie’s comment. I didn’t even notice it was Jon Bovi. What’s that tell you? Besides that I’m a music snob… I listened to Lost Highway on Friday (forced by a co-worker) I liked one song, called Any Other Day. I checked it out on You Tube. Recorded version was better…
    My face is SO red.
    On a slightly related note, I found myself telling someone on Friday about how Karen says “Fire hydrigent.” LOL

  16. I kinda figured you didn’t get that because you and I have similar wit and i was expecting a crack on hazel. Nevertheless, it is always more fun waiting for that moment when it hits (days, years, decades)

    anyway, I’m putting a pathetic plug on here because I know how deeply saddened you are when you see i dont post for months. But, the time has come and i actually put some effort into one and I’ll be waiting for your comment!!!!!

  17. Bu: This is to be expected when I do things in a hurry all the time. I remember a time (long ago) when people would tell me, “You are so perceptive!” I miss that.
    The “moment” you’re expecting will have to wait. I can’t rip on Hazel when she’s incapacitated. My time (wheelchair, false teeth, hearing aids, etc.) is coming soon and I don’t want her retaliating. Of course by then, maybe she will have lost her memory…
    Thanks for the plug, pathetic as it was… 😉 I’m goin’ there now.

Leave a Reply

