HOW DO YOU LIKE MY DRESS?

I had lots of things, nice things to talk about but since I need a little venting, I’m going to get that out of the way. I can’t concentrate on “nice” things until I do. If you’re not in the mood for whining and complaining, simply move on. Or stay here and whine along with me. Surely there’s something on your mind that you need to get off your chest. That didn’t make sense.

It’s hard to make sense or carry through a thought or be productive or play nice or much of anything when you’re deep in the throes of menopause. Yes, that’s what I’m venting about. G’bye boys.

There are tons of wonderful things about being a woman. That’s a post for another day.

There are a few dreadful things about being a woman. In my experience thus far, being that I’ve always been around considerate males and never had to deal with the seat-up/seat-down issue, the absolute worst is dealing with the changes a woman’s body experiences before, during and after the cessation of her menstrual cycles. Even if you are nowhere near this period in your life, surely, due to the media and advertising from pharmaceutical companies, you have a pretty good idea of what possibilities exist. The manifestations (yeah, that’s a scary-sounding word, but it fits here.) range from mood swings, weight gain, hot flashes and night sweats, and a bunch of other things I won’t go into. The big PITA* for me is the hot flashes/night sweats. I’m sure I’ve ranted about this before but it really pisses me off that I can get out of a nice, hot, soapy shower and feel all refreshed and clean and fresh only to break into a full-body sweat not five minutes later. And I’m sick and tired of putting clothes on to stay warm (November in PA is chilly) and then having to peel them off trying to breathe. Seconds later you’re chilled to the bone and scrambling to get warm. On. Off. On. Off. The same thing in bed. I wake up every two hours drenched in sweat. At that point several things can happen. Depending on the severity and duration of the dreaded episode, I can either throw all the blankets off until it passes and then shiver for another ten minutes until my body temperature is back to normal or several other strategies for cool-down up to and including complete disrobement and a trip to the bathroom to freshen up. At which point I’m completely wide-awake and irritated that my sleep was disrupted. I’d be curious to see the numbers for menopausal suicides… And if I had to choose to go through this in the summer months or winter, I think I’d have to pick summer.

Ah, you all think I’m a whine-bag now… if you didn’t already. Be thankful if you never have to go through this. And our mothers and/or grandmothers never talked about this. Ha! So here I am, describing it in detail to the worldwideweb. Times, they are a changin’.

Would I trade all this to be a man? I dunno, I’ll have to think about that.

*Pain In The A♥♥

7 responses to “HOW DO YOU LIKE MY DRESS?

  1. I’m with you on the night sweats. Worst symptom of men-o-paws. I hope you get a reprieve soon.

  2. Ummmm

    Men have penises
    girls have vaginas

    that is all I know, and all I want to know. Anything else is just extra baggage that I don’t have room for!

    That said, I hope that you do indeed get a reprieve soon, as hazelhazel said. 🙂

  3. Hazel: Yeah, it bites the Big One.

    Jeff: You made me laugh so hard, I think I woke PD up…

  4. dood, i couldn’t be more PLEASED that you wrote about this. seriously, b/c no one talks/ed about it those of us that are close behind are in the dark. so THANK YOU for writing aboot it.

    i soooooooooo love PITA and the hearts you made 🙂

    i was wondering as i was reading this if you’ve done any homepathic research on it. i think we’ve covered this before, but i’m not sure and i want to be sure to mention it.

    just today, i went to our special store in town to see about progesterone and signed up for a seminar on hormones. it seems that those buggers cause problems way before menopause.

    if you are interested, lemme know i have a website that has good details about this that i speak of.

  5. Piglet: Thanks for the encouraging words. Nah, I haven’t had time to research, part of this whole hormonal thing is scatter-brainedness which leads to disorganization which leads to poor time management which in turn, leaves me at not having time for “extra” stuff, like important stuff I should be doing. It’s a vicious circle. On top of my own flaws. Yeah, I’m a mess. 😛
    Yeah, send me that website if you don’t mind. I have some time off over the Holiday that might afford me time to give it a look. A good book I read years ago and need to re-read is Christina Northrup’s The Wisdom of Menopause.

  6. I feel sooooo unqualified to make any comments about this topic. But I do hope you find relief from it all very soon.

  7. Um…I’m sorry?

Leave a Reply

