STILL FULL.

How was your Thanksgiving? Mine was great, thanks for asking. A piece of our family had a small gathering at Hazel‘s and I must say, she is an excellent cheffette and a charming hostess. And she makes a mean cornbread casserole that’s to die for. It was a nice, relaxing day and fun to spend time with my sis, Mom and nephews.

I successfully made the trip to her house and back which entailed some driving that previously gave me more than a little anxiety. I’m not saying exactly which route out of respect for Hazel’s privacy, but it included a piece of road known for high traffic and high speeds and also a tunnel. I also pulled off a merge which required negotiating across numerous lanes literally teeming with oh-gawd-where-are-all-these-speed-demons-coming-from? traffic. PD said I did a good job and he knew that I could do it. God bless him for sitting in the passenger seat calmly and not leaving nail marks on my dashboard.

I’m spending today at home, organizing and doing odds and ends to prepare the house for Christmas decorations. That would be fun and great if it weren’t for having to stop for meals, laundry and stuff like that. There was no way I was going out into the shopping world. Last night coming home from Hazel’s we passed a few of the larger department stores where people were lined up waiting for the stores to open. Nah, that’s not for moi. I enjoy the hustle and bustle of normal Holiday shopping but I ain’t goin’ askin’ for all that craziness.

Have I mentioned how fun it is living with PD? I’m afraid that maybe I don’t talk about that enough. For example, yesterday morning he was in another part of the house and I heard him yell, “Rudolph! Full power!” He’s prone to yelling out random phrases from movies and TV shows now and then. I’m not sure if it has to do with his illness or if he’s just nutty. πŸ˜‰ At any rate, his enthusiasm and proclivity for expression tends to escalate around holidays. He’s also really good at sound effects, but I think you knew that already. What a guy.

Last weekend I bought the Rilo Kiley cd, Under the Blacklight. The video clip I posted last week of the song Silver Lining is from that cd. Damn, it’s some good listening. PD agrees.

Ok, I need to get back to work. I guarantee I’ll write at least one more post before I get my house put back together…

6 responses to “STILL FULL.

  1. Sounds like you had a great holiday….I too have some cleaning to do before getting the decor out and ready but I am feeling the rush to get things situated….the holidays have really snuck up on me this year.

  2. It was a great day. One thing missing was the balance of the family.

  3. so when you and i get married, is hazel a part of the package too?

  4. Mishka: Heck yeah, where did they come from? I’m still trying to figure out where September went!

    Hazel: I just got mail from Little Brother saying they’re planning a visit between Christmas and the New Year, so we’ll get another shot at that!

    P’let: Hmmm. I think you could handle me, no prob. Hazel, maybe. The both of us, well… that would be a challenge. But if anyone could, I would bet on you πŸ˜‰

  5. Thanksgiving was wonderful !!! (Full details available at my blog tomorrow) Glad to hear things are going well with you and yours.
    I don’t think the “random phrases” thing with PD has anything to do with any illness. I do it all the time. In fact, most of my best friends and I can have complete conversations with such allusions.

  6. M+: Glad you had a happy day. Welcome back. I’ll be over soon. We have a thing we do with yelling “Jackal!” at random times. It’s kind of a long story but never fails to crack us up.

Leave a Reply

