SOME DAY SOON*

I have, in My Pictures… a lovely photo of me, all excited, holding my autographed copy of Maybe Some Day that I received in the mail a couple of weeks ago from my dear friend Raggy from Malaysia. If not for my gross ineptivity, you would be admiring it right now. (I tried for over an hour on the weekend, every which way, to upload it here and sadly, gave up…) But!!! The good news is (are???) that the cd, as of the 24th, is now available to the masses. And I whole-heartedly recommend it.Β  It’s available here at CD Baby.Β  You can buy the cd or mp3s.Β  There is a discount for multiple copies right now. You can also email him from his site to arrange for an autographed copy.

The range of music is amazing. You may have pre-heard it by now, he’s made the un-mastered tracks available for quite some time. I’ve listened to it over and over and have picked my favorite tunes. This is one cd, however, that I don’t skip any tracks when I listen πŸ˜‰

Raggy’s voice is smooth as silk and clear and refined. I was equally, if not more, impressed with his guitar playing ability. One track, Anything You Want, conveys a love that will never be consummated. Yeah, if it catches me in the right mood, I cry. Cultures and Requiem showcase his fancy guitar delivery. A couple of the tracks have a definite Country sound. When he does the Blues numbers, his voice changes to rough and raspy and makes me worry about damage to his vocal chords (yes, chords is now an acceptable spelling in the dictionary, but only recently. I’ve always spelled it that way…) Living in Poverty was (pre-release) and still is my absolute favorite track on the cd.

Raggy has revamped his site and now has a page for each song on Maybe Some Day. He’s got lyrics, why he wrote the song and tips for playing the songs for all you musicians out there. It’s not complete, but nearly. If you haven’t visited there yet, please do.

And Raggy, let me thank you once more for sending the cd and the sweet and kind words. I’m proud to have you consider me a friend as well as a fan. If there is anything you would like to add here, please feel free.

*You’ll be famous.

7 responses to “SOME DAY SOON*

  1. Hi Linda,

    you’ve got me blushing with your too-kind comments! I don’t deserve such praise, though, I’m just another bloke plonking away at the guitar and not having enough sense to quit πŸ™‚

    I haven’t completing updating all the pages on my website ‘cos I’ve been preparing for gigs….

    Last night I was performing at a pub, first time playing my album’s songs for an audience, and it went really well though I only played a couple of the songs….the songs seem to come alive in a “live” setting, it felt good just to know I could claim to have created some OK songs.

    This coming weekend (3rd Nov) I’ll be guesting at a Blues club in the capital, 4 bands, some top musicians will be there so it should be a fun session, be good to see what they think about the album.

    Fame and fortune? hahaha truth is, the expenses are waaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyy more than any income from music. But still, one does what one does cos that’s what one does, yes?

    Once again, thanks for being such a supportive friend.

    cheers,

    Raggy

  2. raggy, you are a lucky person to have one wink in yer corner πŸ™‚

  3. Raggy,
    You are too modest, kind Sir.
    That had to be quite a rush playing at the pub. I’m sure you made everyone there smile and tap their feet.
    Please let us know how your night goes at the Blues club, I’m interested πŸ™‚ Keep on doing what you do.

    Piglet, you’re sweet. The man is a ball of talent. He don’t need me!

  4. Much too modest. Your music is very good. You have talent and skill — something too few musicians have these days.

    Wink – I tried to e-mail you, but it bounced back from your hotmail account, and I never got anything from your gmail. So, thinking maybe you never got this, here goes:

    Hey there. Funny how Internet searches can lead us back around to the familiar. There are four songs I currently sing to Benjamin at bedtime (well, clips from each, anyway): Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star; Let the Sun Shine In (face it with a grin); Singin’ in the Rain; and Raindrops Keep Fallin’ on My Head. He tells me every night which four songs he wants, and invariably it’s these. He usually sings along, but sometimes not. Occasionally he says, “I’m very tired, Daddy, so you have to whisper them when you sing.” I know. So cute you can’t stand it, right?

    Anywho, I came in here tonight to search and make sure I was singing “Raindrops Keep Falling on My Head” correctly. I found the original version by B.J. Thomas (still hasn’t been beat, in my opinion), and one by Ben Folds Five. Then, of course, I noticed others by BFF. They had recorded a version of “Such Great Heights,” in an impromptu session at a studio in Europe (I think). What I didn’t know until the lady introduced the performance is that it was originally a Postal Service song, and fairly fast-paced. The only one I had heard was the one by Iron and Wine that you included on the mix CD’s. I must say that I’ll be forever ruined for any other version than that. It’s so light and seems to fit the words much better than the original. Oh well.

    Also, the video for Postal Service’s version reminded me of you because you have mentioned on your blog that you work in a sterile environment.



  5. See, Raggy, I tole you!

    Mark … this ended up waiting to be moderated, must have been the link. Sorry. I’m glad I noticed it!
    I checked my hotmail and there you were in the junk. Bastards. You can lose my gmail addy, I never go there anymore.
    I definitely prefer the Iron & Wine version, BFF’s is tedious and lackluster. I think I found it on the Garden State soundtrack, maybe. I hadn’t heard the Postal Service version. It’s not bad but if you hadn’t told me who it was I would have bet money it was Death Cab. Sounds just like Ben Gibbard singing.
    Ah, the video! Was almost like being at work. The hoods on the suits are different than ours.
    Thanks for thinking of me πŸ™‚

  6. Hmmmm . . . methinks we should take up a collection through paypal so you can take a class on uploading photos. We miss seeing your smiling face and fun pictures. πŸ˜‰

  7. Brian, You’re too sweet. Ok, not too sweet, but just right. πŸ™‚
    I dunno what my problem is and I wish I didn’t care but I do. Someday when I’m feeling brave and fearless I may try one more time…

Leave a Reply

