GOOD WEEK

Still counting my blessings… and thinking over the past week and all the good things that happened. I truly am blessed with some great people in my life and I am truly thankful for that.

Early in the week my son, Michael emailed me pictures of his new furniture arranged in his new apartment. If the plan works out, he’ll call me and I’ll drive there to see it in person this weekend. And deliver his clean laundry to him πŸ˜‰ Always fun to hang out with Mike.

Also this week, Matt called to catch up. We talked about anything and everything, just as we always do. The hour we talked flew by way to quickly. We have this incredible knack for knowing what the other is going to say and he’s forever opening my eyes and mind to new ideas and teaching me things. He’s planning to be back in this area in November for his sister’s wedding and we plan to get together and do something fun.

We’ll be traveling to NY the end of September for Juju’s SIL’s wedding. Most of the Juju clan is in the wedding party and it should prove to be a fun and happy time. Nana and PD will be on duty for managing children as needed (oh, listen to me making this sound like a chore, for heaven’s sake.) I can’t wait to see them.

I received another wedding invitation in the mail from yet another good friend who’s getting hitched in mid-October and I’m looking forward to that. I wonder if I can just buy one dress and make it work for both occasions? Two different states… that should work.

And though it is bittersweet, a good friend and co-worker Angela as of today, will no longer be a co-worker of mine. She and I have only been friends less than a year but she’s been such a joy to share my work days with. I joke with her that she’s just a younger version of me and she will tell you, yes, but with an old soul. Today we had lunch together as we usually do and laughed and cried and of celebrated the friendship we’ve built. But I’m grateful for the time we’ve shared and looking forward to watching her become a filthy rich successful artist in a few years. So, while I will miss her at work, we will keep in touch and I’m very happy that she’s following her dream. In her words, “The true artist helps the world by revealing mystic truths.”

Incidentally, the last time I cried when a co-worker moved on was several years ago when my/our dear friend and commenter, Natalie, left the company to raise her family. We “hooked up” again after having lost touch and I’m thankful she’s back in my life.

It’s becoming apparent that I’m so darn blessed that I’m falling asleep before I complete the list of my blessings.

To be continued at a later date…

12 responses to “GOOD WEEK

  1. With so much negativity in the world, it’s nice to read an unfettered bit of happiness.

    We all should be so good to remember all the great things and people in our lives.

    (the link to the picture didn’t work, just FYI)

  2. Mark, I had realized that right away and deleted it. Problem was, my timestamp was screwed up as usual. So when I fixed the time, I neglected to re-delete. I think the original post published instead of the edited one… Or something… at any rate, thanks, I took care of it. πŸ™‚

  3. You are blessed! Talking about your son makes me think about how old mine is getting πŸ™‚ We are close, so I hope when he is all grown up he’ll still need me from time to time … even if it’s laundry.

  4. Kat, you know it! It’s great that you’re close with your son. A mother/son relationship is special in a whole ‘nother way, different from a mother/daughter relationship. Don’t worry, boys ALWAYS need Mom for something. πŸ˜‰ How old is your son? Mine is freshly 31.

  5. I suppose counting our blessings isn’t too much different from counting sheep. If we make sure to do it at the end of each day, we’ll definitely sleep better…

  6. M+, what a lovely sentiment. You know what? I’m going to do that. From now on… Thank you, my friend πŸ™‚

  7. You’re so sweet! Do you believe that I left there almost 6 years ago!!! Aiden was just over 1 and is now 6 1/2….crazy how time flies! I’m glad to hear someone say that boys always need there mom! My biggest fear(having 2 boys) is that they will grow up and meet some bitch that I don’t like and she steals them away from me!!! If that ends up being the case I will definitely settle for laundry!

  8. oops! I meant to say that “boys always need THEIR mom…”

  9. Natalie, I feel bad… I thought I remembered that you left work to get married… I edited that out.
    I too, can’t believe how time flies. Your kids are growing too fast. Make them stop. If you do, then they won’t be able to meet those women you dread πŸ˜‰ Sounds simple, doesn’t it? Oh, if only it were so… *sigh*

  10. you gotsa lot of blessing πŸ™‚ an old co-worker reads my blog but told me she’s too shy to comment. she’s got personalities like ours. you know, crazy.

  11. P’let, “Crazy, like us.” Good name for a blog someday, co-authored by you ‘n me πŸ˜‰

  12. My pleasure. Glad I could help.
    Feel free to borrow any of my intriguing, thought provoking or otherwise amusing observations/quotations. That’s why I put them out there.

Leave a Reply

