SHAWPIN’ ON SUNDAY AT THE PARK

PD and I went to the flea market at the park today instead of tomorrow. I thought it might be nice to just have an at-home day before going back to work.

I did pretty good as far as not buying too much stuff I don’t need. I think I took about $70 with me and came home with a ten and some change. Mostly what I bought were cds. I got Warren Zevon’s The Wind, a Michelle Branch, Slim Dunlap (ex-‘Mats member), Outkast, Lemonheads, Hooters, (really.) Joni Mitchell and one of those American Eagle Outfitter’s Compilations. I have three or four of those and no complaints. I think maybe that’s it for the cds. I picked up a 3-pack of Yankee Leather scented car fresheners. (Love those.) Pretty much everything else was art supplies. I found a really cool vendor who had printed up a lot of nostalgic art things and framed them or made magnets or bookmarks and greeting cards. A lot were pictures by my favorite artist John Waterhouse. So I had to buy a bagful of that stuff. I also bought a blue glass bottle for my kitchen window collection and two marbles. And a tin of colored pencils. PD bought a dvd and a Batman figure for Little Juju. Oh, yeah and I bought some hair thingies and a mink bracelet for Little Miss Juju. I think that’s it.

We had a fun day. There were tons of people there and some good music and food. I got a lot of ideas for some art projects. Right now my legs are tired. PD has those attractive white lines on his temples where his sunglasses kept the sun off. I haven’t looked at my shoulders yet but I bet they’re red…

Last night we watched Fracture. (starring my hero, Anthony Hopkins.) Pretty good but I can’t figure out why they called it “Fracture.” Like I need anything else to wonder about… I rented Shopgirl to watch. Will let you know how it is.

I planted wild flowers in my flower beds this year, I think I told you. You would not believe how they’ve grown and how tall and thick they are. There were these crazy vines with huge heart-shaped leaves that just took over. They climbed up the foundation and over the porch railing which is higher than I can reach standing on the ground. Yesterday one of the tendrils grew almost a foot from morning to evening. This morning it bloomed and of all things, they are Morning Glories. Huge, deep purple blossoms and they’re beautiful. I just can’t get over how quickly they grow. And they twine around every single thing in their path. If I’d remembered to replace the batteries in my camera I would take pictures. But you wouldn’t be able to see them anyway… so you’ll just have to take my word for it. In the meantime, I came across this painting of flowers that’s pretty cool. Check it out and then I’m checkin’ out.

Goodnight. Enjoy the Holiday tomorrow. (Today, now.  Or yesterday if it’s Tuesday.)

PS Somebody let me know if all these links work. 😉

14 responses to “SHAWPIN’ ON SUNDAY AT THE PARK

  1. Sounds like a nice relaxing way to spend the day.
    I understand exactly what you mean about needing a day before returning to work. I’m not planning on doing much of anything today. Especially after the weekend I’ve just had. Awesome, but exausting.
    Wish I could see the flowers of which you write. They sound beautiful.

  2. M+ It was a fun, relaxing day. You should try to go there next year, if you like that sort of thing. It wouldn’t be terribly far for you. I could send you directions.
    I just came in from enjoying my yard and my coffee, that damn vine has grown another 10 inches overnight! I will try to post a picture when I remember to get batteries for the camera…

  3. Yep your links work. I checked every one. Sounds like you had a good weekend. Please get batteries for that camera. I really want to see these flowers/vines, you spoke of.

  4. Lori, Sheesh, I wish I had your free time 😉 Kidding. I must have been nuts to put all those in one post! At any rate, thanks! Would you like to apply for the position of my blog administrator? Lord knows I could use one… and while you’re at it, pick me up some batteries. (Boy I bet you’re glad you came here today.
    I just came in from outside. This morning I untangled the vines from around my plant stand so they wouldn’t choke my houseplants (which are outdoor plants in the summer months) and can you believe they are back, all wound around the railing and the plant stand. It’s starting to creep me out. I’ll be dreaming of them coming inside and up the stairs and creeping all over my headboard. *Shudders*

  5. That’s weird, you’d better get them before they get you.

  6. I’d have lots of free time if I could just tear myself away from this computer.

  7. I look forward to reading your comments on “Shop Girl.” Certainly one of my new favorites. And my wife loved it too!

  8. Morning glories are actually an invasive plant here. I planted them in CA because I love them, but in Seattle they are a big no no. Sad.

  9. Jo, Welcome here! Forgive me, I’m on cold meds, can’t quite figure out if you’re in CA or WA now. I’m leaning toward WA. Oh, yes, having read your comment once more (la la la) I believe I am correct.
    I have a question for you. Is it unusual to have deep purple blossoms? I’ve only ever seen the beautiful blue with a little yellow and the white centers.
    (please don’t tell your friends that I was all loopy when you came here, it really is the NyQuil, honest)
    😉

  10. Brian, Have tried two nights in a row to start watching the movie but tomorrow night (Thur.) I am For Sure. We’ll talk later.

  11. wow, i love that painting. i have been wondering about the movie fracture myself. if you like it i prolly will too. i really enjoyed shop girl, altho i was a little disappointed at the ending.

    i love flea markets, they are lotsa fun 🙂

  12. Hi Piglet 🙂 Glad you like the painting. As for Fracture, it’s good. I wouldn’t say Great, just good. Anthony Hopkins was Great in it. The plot was nothing spectacular, it’s been done before. The lawyer kid was weak, would not have been my casting choice at all. But the ending had a nice twist. All in all I would give it 2 and 3/4 stars out of 4. Tune in later for my take on Shopgirl. See if you agree with me.
    You would be a great date for a flea market!

  13. I noticed in one post you said you figured everyone was tired of hearing about you … but, I found myself scrolling … scrolling … looking for something that reflected the individual. I found it in this post. Very pleasant discover, by the way. 🙂

  14. Hi Kat, Nice of you to stop in and comment. I think you’ll find that the crabby outweighs the pleasant here lately, but don’t let that deter you. The weekend is here and I’m in a good mood 🙂

Leave a Reply

