Plan B

I had planned on sharing the family reunion with you, but the more I thought about it, the more I realized that:

a) You really don’t know and can’t appreciate any of these people (except Hazel and JuJu and Ju wasn’t there.) and,

b) Most of the goings-on fell under the category of “You Had to Be There. ”

So I’m sorry if you’re disappointed.  One happening that was hilarious either way, I want Hazel to share.  She can post pictures and everything…

If you’re a regular reader, you know that I’ve been struggling with some medication that I will be on for just two more weeks.  I’m sure it’s obvious that it’s contributed to my crankiness in any of several degrees and my blog probably has been reading much like  The Peevery.  Only not as entertaining…

A lot of things that have occurred in the past several months have been catching up with me and have made it necessary for me to turn introspective.  That’s not usually a good thing for me, but necessary, nonetheless.

I don’t have much spare time for journaling or sitting down and talking things out.  I’m going to use the blog to work through some issues.  Please don’t feel that you need comment.  Please don’t feel that I’m looking for answers.  But if you share any of the same feelings and wish to offer support, that’s great.  Being that this is likely going to take a very personal turn, if you’d rather not read, I’m fine with that.  Maybe it won’t seem all that different, being that I basically write about Me, Me, Me, anyway.  (Somewhere along the way, I learned that would-be writers are given the advice Write what you know about.  Me is all I know…)

As a little prelude, I will tell you that, since turning 50, I’ve gone through a ton of personal changes; a lot of them positive.  I feel, at times, like I’ve gone through so many changes that sometimes I barely recognize me.  I’m not handling stress the way I used to.  I’m experiencing some anxiety on levels that I’m not accustomed to dealing with.  In plain words, sometimes I just don’t know who I am or what I’m doing.  I spoke at length today with my new doctor and he made some suggestions.  I stressed to him that I’d like to deal with this without the “benefit” of medication.  He was sympathetic and suggested a ton of other ways to help me get back on track.  So that’s going to be my focus for a bit.  I’ve had a bad habit of blocking out things too painful to deal with but I knew sooner or later that would end up biting me in the butt.

One issue that’s causing me some distress is lack of sleep.  I’m going to go address that now.  Good night 🙂

4 responses to “Plan B

  1. Sleep well and dream of large women.

    Wait a minute. That doesn’t quite fit here. But, I do hope that you can find ways besides medication. As a guys whose 30-something wife has separate morning and night pill keepers labeled with each day of the week, I can relate.

  2. It’s your blog, talk about whatever you want.We will listen. We will comment, and inevitably I will say something that is construed as either smart assed or completely insensitive. I will apologize now so when the time comes I don’t need to bother! 🙂

  3. personally, i wouldn’t be disappointed but you know i’m cool like that 🙂 part of having a blog is for you to write what you know. and, i know it tends to involve “working things out” periodically. and, that’s ok. you are smart enough, good enough, funny enough and gosh darn it, people like you!

    🙂 hope yer’ smilin’….

  4. Mark, thanks, dude. But you can keep your dreams to yourself. I didn’t know about the large women thing 😉
    Yeah, these stupid hormones are screwing me up enough, I don’t want to take anything else. Poor Shannon. Thank goodness she has you.

    Jeff, Oddly enough, I don’t think you and I have ever misunderstood each other. Unless you’re not telling me something. You always speak from your heart and I think I know when you’re being a smart ass. And I look forward to that 😉 I don’t anticipate you EVER needing to apologize.

    Piglet, this is no new news to you, I know… I ❤ U

Leave a Reply

