KATE AND ME

I had a little change of plans.  Originally I was embarking on my “road trip” yesterday when I got home from work.  But, due to my own procrastination practices and a detail or two out of my control, I’m leaving this morning instead.  My head is in a much better place than it was.  Not totally where I want it but after I get my “Kate fix” I’m sure I’ll be just fine.

You may remember me mentioning my very best friend in the world since first grade.  Kate.  We celebrated our 50th birthdays together at Martha’s Vineyard last year, remember?  I wish she had a blog that I could send you to because only then would you understand how I feel about her.  She’s been a virtual rock for me almost through my entire life.  How can I convey this?

Growing up, Kate and I have been sorta like counterparts.  She was an only child and I loved escaping to her house to play uninterrupted.  She, on the other hand enjoyed the noisy craziness at my house with all the kids.  She was the voice of reason when I wanted to do daring things.  But on the other hand, I think I persuaded her to do some things, crazy stuff, that maybe she thought weren’t good ideas but ended up being things that we still talk and laugh about today.  She is the one with good logic and common sense.  We know that’s not me but we balance each other out.  I have had some of the best conversations of my life with her.  We discuss everything under the sun.  She helps me see the other side of things that I may not have considered otherwise.  But she never judges or imposes her opinion.  She’s honest with compassion and tact, a rare talent that I admire.  And Laugh; I challenge any two people anywhere to out-laugh the two of us.

She has poise, a wonderful sense of humor and is true to her convictions.  She has a heart of gold and is steady as a rock.  I really don’t know what kind of person I would be if she hadn’t charmed her way into my six-year-old heart.  She and I share wonderful memories that could fill volumes, and then some.

Excuse me now, I’m going to load up the car and head for my fix.

13 responses to “KATE AND ME

  1. aw, i think i love kate too. you are indeed lucky to have a kate in your life and it’s cool how you acknowledge that. friends have saved me from myself many a times.

    glad your head is in a better place.

    tell kate we said hi!

  2. That is so cool that you have a lifelong friend you still visit. I hope my friend I’ve had since second grade is still in my life when I’m 50.

    But that will be a LONG time from now. Ha. Um. That was meant to be funny. It wasn’t? Sorry. It won’t be nearly as long as I wish (what with my whole fear of dying thing).

  3. Piglet, yes, you would love her too.

    Mark, it will be a long time from now. You lucky little sh**. 😉

  4. After your “fix,” do you now have a Kate “hangover?”

  5. Brian, Ah ha ha. No, actually just a mild case of “wish it wasn’t over so quick.”

  6. I wish I had a Kate in my life. Instead,I have a lot of aquaintances and some friends that I enjoy, but don’t know if they’d be their when the going got tough…if you know what I mean. Consider yourself blessed.

  7. Lori, I do feel blessed. I know exactly what you mean, like “fair weather friends”… A lot of people these days don’t take the time to cultivate their friendships. You have to build the trust. I am very fortunate that Kate and I bonded so early and everything after is pretty much effortless. Kind of like planting a garden and enjoying the harvest (minus a lot of the weeding, canning, etc.) I don’t know if I would have the energy and certainly not the time to build such a strong friendship at this point in my life. Such a large part of our bond is simply history. There are so many degrees of friendship, tho’. Sometimes it just depends on the two people.
    I bet you have more real friends than you thought…

  8. I don’t know what to say to such a nice tribute. Linda, you can write my eulogy anytime. All those nice things you said right back act ya. I think we are blessed to pick up right where we last off, and have so much fun. You are the fun one.
    I still laugh as much as when I got sent away from the supper table for laughing when we were six.

  9. Yeah. maybe.

  10. Such an incredible friendship deserves to be celebrated, and celebrated often. Both of you are truly blessed to have each other.

  11. Kate, just suck it up, sweetie. I’ll only write your eulogy if you promise to write mine. We’ll leave the gift of laughter behind. That’s the only thing I really want to be remembered for anyway.
    Thanks again for a wonderful weekend. I needed it and I got it. Long live Meat Loaf. And his potty mouth 😉
    Those times you got sent away from the table, I will never forget. But what got us laughing so hard in the first place??? I have no idea. And it happened every time, like clockwork. lol

  12. Lori, I hope so!

    M+, thanks dude. I appreciate your words. In the friend department, I have been blessed many times over. Which reminds me, I need to get over to catch up on your news! Hope you’re doing well.

  13. Life is grand! Thanks for asking. Glad things are well with you, too.

Leave a Reply

