ABOUT THAT CEILING…

Our house is old.  Our house is large. I love our house.  At any given time, due to PD’s illness, there are a dozen or so unfinished projects either in progress or on hold at various locations in the house.  One of those particular projects is one we’ve been putting off, mostly because of the huge amount of inconvenience that would ensue, coupled with the amount of work involved.

At some point in time, a previous owner decided that it would be a good idea to put a dropped ceiling in the kitchen.  Which was, I’m sure, a decision made considering that a) the cost to heat a large home with high ceilings can cause one to reel, and b) it’s a great way to hide a lot of holes in one’s ceiling.  The second, being the end result of having a bathroom situated directly above the kitchen and all the plumbing problems that can result in an old house.  To say that there are a lot of holes in our kitchen ceiling would be a gross understatement.  The times that we have had to resort to using said holes to reach pipes, wiring, etc. could make a Guinness record… And popping out a panel in a dropped ceiling, doing the dirty work and popping the panel back in was a great way to “hide” evidence.

The thing is, that with your daily kitchen goings-ons, over time the ceiling can get yellowed and not-so-pretty.  A couple of years ago it was time to take the panels down and either clean them, paint them or replace them.  That never happened.  Now that PD seems to be enjoying a sort of temporary (but hopefully longer) alleviation of symptoms and is hell-bent on catching up on every single neglected chore from the past 4 or so years, the kitchen ceiling project was next on the list.  Had I paid closer attention to the list, I would not have been so surprised to come home from work one day last week to find the thing removed.

You can’t imagine how cool and different the kitchen looks.  In fact, we’ve pretty much decided to toss the old suspension thing and repair the old original ceiling.  It’s going to take a lot of work and some creativity, to be sure but I think the end result will be great.  I’m always one for restoring original character in a house.  It killed me to get rid of my old pedestal bathtub and sink when we redid my bathroom.  I lost that battle.  Ah, well. 

So the mood I feel in the kitchen now is hard to explain.  I kind of have this old general store look going on and the high ceiling seems to work with it.  I have one “brick” wall, lots of old tin advertisement signs and white walls with a black-and-white check motif here and there.  We’ve got a black ceiling fan to put up when the work is done and we’re working on taking the wood cabinets down and stripping them and painting them white. I’d wanted to put glass in the doors but Poopy pooh-poohed that idea. I wanted to put chicken wire behind the glass.

Anyway, this post has run on way longer than I’d intended and I’m already behind on today’s  major project which started yesterday with the power-washing, scraping and patching of the foundation of the house and the front of the front porch.  You can’t believe the mess.  Or how sore I was when I got out of bed this morning. Or how glad I will be when we get this finished. 🙂

15 responses to “ABOUT THAT CEILING…

  1. I can imagine the change with the dropped ceiling gone. Sounds awesome.
    BTW, if you are going to paint the cabinets, a good primer can take the place of sanding.

  2. Hazel, actually, we found a product that does just that. The name escapes me at present, but it’s already saved us hours of tedious elbow-busting.

  3. Sounds like a cool, and big, project. I would say you ought to post pictures, but that might result in your attempt to do so, which would in turn inspire you to curse the day computers were born.

    So, pics or no, it sounds cool. But pics would be nice icing on the old proverbial cake.

    Ya know, if it doesn’t drive you crazy.

  4. Mark, funny, I never thought of you as a masochist. Not seriously, anyway. Of course I thought it would be fun to post before and after pics. Of course I quickly dismissed the thought. But for you, um… send me your home address and I will send you pictures. 😉 Maybe I’ll put them in one of my three flickr accounts and hope they show up here. :-Þ
    Oh, and since you and I are so intuned (is that a word?) to what drives each other crazy, I fixed a typo for you in your comment… You’re welcome.

  5. Just thinking about home improvement projects gives me the shakes. I understand the science and principles behind the work, but my hands have never been able to get the info to gel properly. And I have an old house, too. Sucks to be me…
    But I wish you good luck with everything you’re doing.

  6. M+, It’s kind of funny in a sad way, we bought a house “with potential” so that we could make it to be our dream house. A couple of years into the renos is when PD got sick. Thankfully though, we had completed the important stuff like plumbing, re-wiring and a new roof, furnace, A/C, etc., so at least we got the essentials out of the way. Thanks for the good luck. I see by the weather report that our outside projects may be postponed today and maybe all week. So it sucks to be us too!

  7. That sounds like too much work to me. Exactly why we bought new construction. I should get quite a few good years out of it before I have to start any major fixit projects!

  8. “To say that there are a lot of holes in our kitchen ceiling would be a gross understatement.” Considering there’s a bathroom above and plumbing from that general area, this seems to take on a double meaning.

    It sounds like this kitchen will look a lot better when y’all are finished. When I think of drop ceilings, I think of schools and government buildings… not of homes!

  9. Jeff, you’re not just handsome and witty, you’re SMART.

    Feanor, (HI!!!) LOL I guess I speak in entendres even too subtle for me to notice! (Is that the plural of entendre? And am I even spelling it right?) Not a good night for keeness or clarity of thought for me. You probably noticed that already, huh.
    My kitchen won’t look much different, actually just higher. 😉
    Read any good books lately?

  10. Your project sounds like a big one – but restoring a house is such a great thing to do. Our house is 38 years old and has a bit of character, but my parents live in a 100 year old house – with all the appropriate woodwork and beautiful wooden floors. Old houses can look so great.

    Kudos

  11. HOME IMPROVEMENT! I love working on projects as you may know. I a few years took on the task of adding on to my house which now is still ongoing. Is it called an add-on if it is larger than the originally? I really wish I had more time to work on it.

  12. OK, reading over the list of things you’ve already finished nearly threw me into an epileptic siezure…

    Truth be told, we (the EX and I) bought this house in the hopes of “fixin’ ‘er up.” So much for that idea now. Home improvements are nearly impossible on the income of a single parent.
    Here’s hoping the weather breaks for you soon enough.

  13. Cas, it is really quite rewarding when you finish things but the excitement wears thin when it’s so long between completions *sigh*

    TC, I would love to quit my job and just refurbish things, there is so much satisfaction in that. And you can be so creative. Ok, minimally creative when you consider costs, space, architectural soundness (you know, things have to be “architecturally sound”…), things like that. I admire your ambition.

    BD, doesn’t that mean, like, “a trinket” or something? *shakes head, repeatedly* Could I appeal to you for an explanation? Are you minimalizing our undertaking?

    M+, If I shared PD’s To Do List here; some things started, some things done, some things in progress, you would laugh your butt off (which is way preferable to having a seizure.) It’s three pages long.
    And yes, things are expensive. Electrical wire especially. And lumber. You just do what you can until your reserves (financial, physical AND mental) are depleted.

  14. No, it doesn’t mean a trinket. It is a small thing which provoke curiousity.

    Sorry, this was a bad attempt; since you are taking on what doesn’t sound much like a small task and anticipating what is to come of it.

    I’m not in the habit of minimalizing.

Leave a Reply

