WRITING MAKES ME HUNGRY

I really hate that I don’t know enough about computers.  And I hate asking people questions about them.  Once in awhile I run into someone who is kind and patient and seems willing to share their knowledge.  But more often than not, I’m made to feel bothersome and rarely get a straight answer.  It’s like there is some sort of exclusive club or something.  I’ve been having mega-problems lately and I owe TC (my hero) some huge favors for talking me through some gruelling marathon step-by-step fixits.  I dunno if this has anything to do with it, but I started having problems after downloading from a certain popular music site.  Does that happen sometimes?  I don’t know what else to blame it on.  Something that freaked me out just a little, if I type the word “sc_n,” -put an a in the blank, WordPress or someone/something makes it into a link to a virus protection page. That’s too weird for me.  Isn’t that abnormal???

Enough about that.

You know what?  I don’t feel like finishing this.  I’m going to go eat.  Laters.

9 responses to “WRITING MAKES ME HUNGRY

  1. Here is some sage advice to live by . . . advice that’s applicable to almost any situation:

    “Lower your expectations and claim a victory.”

    Enough said. 🙂

  2. I totally agree with Brian on that one! 😉

  3. i’m going with brian on this one 🙂 as a former information technology idiot who trained others, i feel your pain and i can promise you that i am not one of those bastards that make you feel stupid b/c you don’t understand. in fact, folks like you were my specialty… guess cos we see eye to eye on lots of stuff.

    not that i know a whole lot, but i’ve been known to help people out. i’m hungry now too.

  4. No matter how smart someone seems in a certain area, there’s something out there that he or she knows jack shit about. Usually because they’re not interested in it.

    Same goes for folks who easily get frustrated by computers. Geeks who see computer use as an end, not a means (myself included), need to be more understanding of that.

    I couldn’t tell you the first thing about hockey, but I wouldn’t want somebody heckling me for asking questions about it.

  5. Brian, you are so very wise and tactful.

    Thank you all for your thoughtful comments.

  6. As far as the question goes. It is something that wordpress(dot)com does. I believe you can turn it off in the settings somewhere! I’ll check.

  7. Amigo, thanks for that. I’ll look too, just to get some experience… can’t hurt me! Hope you’re feeling ok.

  8. Then again I could be wrong. I haven’t found it yet but I did figure out how to turn off the snap previews! I have messed with the other settings and nothing seems to do what you are describing for me. So I guess I have nothing, sorry!

  9. Computers can be frustrating, even for an expert. Glad to help.

Leave a Reply

