SCREETCHIN’

 

If for some reason the picture isn’t visible, it’s Edvard Munch’s The Scream, which is a pretty accurate depiction of the state I found myself occupying most of the day yesterday (Friday).  A friend attributed it to a caffeine-induced state of edginess.  Which is entirely possible, yet I’m choosing to blame it on other people things.

I always look forward to Fridays, mostly because it is the end of my work week and co-workers are generally in a good mood and even light-hearted and fun to be around.  I don’t know what was up everyone’s collective butt yesterday, but by the end of the day I was ready to sprint out of there like a bat out of hell.

Number One Irritant, we will call “M.”  M. tends to be a whiner 8 hours a day often.  Yesterday she was assigned to perform a job she doesn’t normally do.  This required her to relocate her work station to an isolated part of the room where she found herself with no one to whine talk to.  Then at break time, instead of enjoying the opportunity to whine socialize, what did she do but whine for 15 minutes aboot not having anyone to whine talk to all day.

Number Two Irritant involves the constant barrage of visitors to my desk.  For some reason people seem to think I have cool stuff on my desk and are forever picking things up, inspecting them and putting them back in unconvenient places.  I have spent hours and days working out a system that works for me and is still within the rules to help me do my job consistently and in the most efficient way possible.  It may not be the way everyone else performs but it is, as I said, within guidelines.  People are fascinated evidentally, with what is different, the way people flocked to see the “freaks” in days of old at carnivals.  As a result, my desk seems to be a gathering place at regular intervals throughout the day.  After a point, I try to cut down on the wildly-entertaining wit and humor friendly conversation to discourage visitation.  Sometimes it works, sometimes not.  Keep in mind that a typical day for me consists of me inserting ear buds from the time I get to my desk, removing them ideally, only at break times, lunch and at the end of the day. Unideally, it is every five minutes to answer questions, pick up someone else’s slack or listen to a PA announcement.  Which brings me to Irritant Number Three.  Which is this:

Among the thousands of pages announced in the course of a day for a myriad of reasons, there are the outside calls which resonate, let’s say 4, 5, 6+ times a day for people which are obviously not business or even job-related.  You and I both know that these calls are from inept baby-sitters who are calling to report that Junior has once again ripped the dog a new asshole wallpaper off the wall or immersed the toaster in the baby’s bath.  The worker (a mother in most cases) must stop her job and counsel/mediate/instruct the caregiver in the complicated steps of childcare and then come back to work and whine and bitch about the babysitter for an hour and a half.  Don’t get me wrong, I sympathize with young mothers who must work and manage their lives around young children not yet old enough to be entertained by school teachers but come on, find someone responsible and resourceful with half a brain to care for the kiddies.

Needless to say, I’m enjoying the hell out of my Saturday.  Rain and all…

18 responses to “SCREETCHIN’

  1. Wow! Are you looking forward to yet another Monday?

  2. Sounds like a sucky day. I’m too paranoid about getting Dooce’d to blog about my work. Shame, too, because it would make for endless material.

    I’m fascinated now about your workplace. Can you snap a pic and post it (if you figure out how to post it more successfully than you did the pic with this post)? Even though I couldn’t see “The Scream” here, I know it and can feel your pain.

  3. Natalie, sure! Like a hole in my head…

    Mark, yeah, I like to live on the edge. Ha! Don’t look for a pic here, no cameras allowed on the premises. Something about security… :-Þ Even if I could, of course I couldn’t get it on here.

  4. Don’t try too hard to work. Do Bats sprint?

  5. TC, it’s remarks like that that make me remember why I like you. 😉

  6. I have to wonder how it is that we have so many of the same co-workers, but we don’t work for the same company…

  7. M+, LOL Buddy. Tell me you’ve never watched Office Space. We ALL work with the same people… 😉

  8. Linda, what do you do???

    “Well, I generally come in at least fifteen minutes late, ah, I use the side door – that way Lumbergh can’t see me, heh – after that I sorta space out for an hour. Yeah, I just stare at my desk, but it looks like I’m working. I do that for probably another hour after lunch too, I’d say in a given week I probably only do about fifteen minutes of real, actual, work.”

  9. have you tried ignoring the “talking lady”? i mean just being completely mute. even if she looks at you like “are you going to respond?” just groan or make some weird noise.

    as for your visitors, you have to stop being so cool. (i know, it’s a curse, i know. we crave and loath it all at the same time. and seriously, people never seem to “get it” when party time is over.)

    and, eat and drink lots of garlic.

    back in my office box days i heard of a person that put a sign up outside of their area to warn people of their mood. i always thought that was a good idea.

  10. Remarks like what? Where am I? OH yeah I remember, party on!

  11. Sometimes I’m just late to the party… like now. I truly do hope your weekend went better than Friday augered for you, Linda. I know those sorts of days; I’ve had those sorts of days. If it makes you feel at all better, I was at work for the entire morning on Sunday in order to make sure I had my ducks in a row for Monday.

  12. Alvis, if you really want to know, mail me and I’ll tell you. Not sayin’ here. Is that a quote? Forgive me if its escaping me. I kind of doubt if its a quote from Alvis.

    Piglet, this woman talks (whines) to herself most of the time. It’s not really like she’s talking to anyone in particular. I ignore her most of the time, as do a lot of people. Sometimes that makes her louder… I love your advice though. I’m practicing it through visualization so I can use it one of these times. I like the mood sign idea too, unfortunately, it’s not an option for me. Like you said, I’ll just have to cut down on the cool. And maybe (big maybe) the caffeine.

    Simon, yeah, yeah. I hear your excuses. And I’ll up you one. My weekend was near fabulous, thanks. I guess it sucked to be you on Sunday. Sorry to hear that. Were the ducks still lined up on Monday?

  13. Earphones sort that drone problem out in the workplace…

  14. BD, I would go nuts in there without my headphones…

  15. Ducks still lined up on Monday, yup. All’s well that ends well… that sort of thing.

  16. Tell ya the truth, I’ve never seen Office Space. And I don’t even work in an office. I’m just an avid observer of human nature…

  17. M+, you really should see it, it’s a howl. You will identify someone in your workplace with every character in the movie. That’s the appeal of the movie, it’s universal.
    Someday I will tell you where I work. You won’t believe it…

  18. If Office Space the sell out Office? Ricky Gervais?

Leave a Reply

