BITEMARKS ON HER ASS

I guess today was National Walk at Lunchtime Day or some damn thing, sponsored by the company that carries our health insurance at work.  So aboot 150 of us gathered in the front parking lot and walked for 20 minutes (2 laps around the building) and then enjoyed a nice bag lunch supplied by the company.  Was a nice, invigorating midday break.  A bit nipply nippy but that made it easier to keep up a healthy pace…

I’m enjoying my new dental work and the novocaine has worn off finally. And the wrinkles are back. Dammit.

Remember awhile ago when I told you aboot the racist lady woman at work who declared that Obama just could not become President because”she would not have a (whispered) black man” in the White House?  And how sickened and disgusted I was by her remark?  Well.  I must share this with you and I hope you appreciate it as much as I did.  It is pretty damn near priceless.

Yesterday she came to work wearing a Howard University sweatshirt.  I kid you not. I asked her if she’d ever been to Howard.  She replied that no, she’d never even heard of it.  She’d found the shirt on a clearance table at Steve & Barry’s.  One of those moments when you wish that you had access to closed-circuit televison that went out all over the world a camera…  When someone pointed out to her that Howard was an all-Black university, she had the nerve to say (you guessed it) “That must be why it was on clearance.”  I wanted so badly to enlighten her to the fact that she didn’t deserve to wear the shirt but I’m not into wasting my time.  That’s all I have to say aboot that.  I’ll not soon forget how she looked walking in, all proud, wearing her new “bargain”.  It’s a shame it will most likely never get worn again.

16 responses to “BITEMARKS ON HER ASS

  1. HaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHa! That could go on for a while but I’ll spare you. There’s nothing worse than someone who is racist! It’s especially bad when they are to embar”ass”ed or “ass”hamed to say it out loud! That’s all I’ll say for now cause I can go on about this subject for hours!

  2. that is straight up karma. the universe having it’s way with her 🙂

    i have a very hard time with racism myself. it’s such a huge waste of time in addition to a hiding spot for people with serious issues. (meaning the people that they actually SHOULD be mad at they cannot be, thusly they hide behind their “racist” cards.)

  3. As they say, ignorance is bliss.

  4. Nat, Piglet, Hazel, I am SOOO glad you all agree with me. Maybe we can change the world.

  5. That’s a sweet moment, indeed. Glad you had the gumption to share it out here.

    Here’s one from my past. “She’s pretty, for a black woman.”

    I heard that all the time when I was a kid. I admit, too, that I probably thought it and maybe said it until I knew better.

    Now I can look right at Halle Berry and say, “She’s beautiful,” without a racist qualifying thought entering my mind. Same goes for my good friend’s ex-girlfriend from Kenya.

    No, I don’t want a cookie. I want violins. I was a victim, dammit! I was brought up in an all-white town in the south. Okay, maybe half of a cookie, or one of those tiny ones that come in the 100-calorie packs.

  6. Geez… could you hear her tiny brain rattling around in that head of hers, or was it insulated by the high pressure fog of ignorance circulating throughout the rest of her cranium? I’d say something stronger than “geez,” but then I’d get carried away.

  7. People like that drive me nuts. I cannot understand how someone can be that way and survive in this world. I would love to take her to Gary and drop her off.

    I have also dealt with it once myself while visiting PA. I stopped in a store that was apparently not white friendly as I was asked to leave before I had even gotten all the way in. I’m guessing it was just a wrong side of the town instant but it was still un-nerving!

  8. Mark, PD was raised in the South also and has shared stories like yours. Thank God he saw that it was wrong to have those small-minded ideas. Or else I wouldn’t love him like I do…

    Simon, Inspired by Forrest Gump, I am compelled to say, “Stupid is as stupid judges.” You know what I mean, not quite awake yet…

    Jeff, Once my ex-husband, who loved to take Sunday afternoon drives to nowhere in particular, took the kids and I to Baltimore. We walked into a MacDonald’s and were the only white people there. It was no big deal whatsoever. We enjoyed our meal and that was that. I felt more uncomfortable a couple weeks ago in Buffalo when PD and I walked into a Burger King and PD was wearing his Penguins hockey jersey. He got some looks.

  9. The taste of irony must have been delicious that day. (Can I use the word irony in that way? I’m not really sure.)

    I’ve been reading an account of integration at Little Rock’s Central High School in 1957. Written by one of the Little Rock Nine, it is a very vivid account of what it was like to be a black person in the South during the 1950s. Talk about second class citizens. If I were black and had grown up in that era, I think I would be pretty jaded towards white people. Luckily, a lot of black people are bigger than that.

    Nipply? That’s one of my favorite words! 🙂

  10. We are all going to end up in a whole in the ground…

  11. Wonderful story, Linda. It great when loud, obnoxious ignorance draws attention to itself. What’s scary though is that for every person like her who doesn’t have the common sense to keep her racism to herself…there are even more walking around who feel the same way but don’t mention in.

    I read somewhere that exit polling in elections when a white candidate went against an Aferican-American candidate was unreliabale becasue people were likely to tell the poller that they voted for the black candidate even though when it was just them and the ballot…they voted for the white guy.

  12. Alvis, I would say that was a classic example of irony. I’m sure if we’re wrong, someone will be glad to point that out.
    That sounds like very interesting reading. A book report on your blog sounds like a good idea, don’t you think?

    BD, Yep, in one way or another, we’ll all be dust. And, if I’m correct, dust is all one color, sorta beige?

    Mokker, truer than you think. In fact this same woman talked her grandchild out of buying a toy/doll because it was not caucasian. I forgot about that. I’m praying for her grandchildren. I guess what it all comes down to is fear and ignorance.

  13. i am 100% up for changing the world 🙂

  14. It couldn’t have happend to a more deserving person. Prejudice isn’t a pretty thing.

    Cas

  15. Piglet, sometimes I like to think that if bloggers united, we would have a big and powerful voice.

    Cas, I appreciate your thoughts 🙂

  16. She is an HR moment ready to be plucked. Karma indeed.

Leave a Reply

