NO MATTER HOW YOU SPELL IT…

I must spend some time here praising the movie In Pursuit of Happyness.  Quite frankly, I thought I’d rented a different movie (the title escapes me now but it stars Adam Sandler…).  You’ll have to excuse my lack of expertise in the field of movie reviewing.  I seldom pay attention to the “professionals”.  Most times I can find some redeeming quality or qualities in anything that I’ve given up time doing something constructive to watch.  (While you’re in excuse mode, please overlook the clumsiness of that last sentence.  Thank you.)

Forget that I’ve never been a fan of Will Smith or that I can’t even recall seeing his acting.  I’m going to go out on a limb and suppose that when he read the script for this movie, it moved him in such a way that he was transformed into a really good actor, whether or not he was in the past. I’m reminded of Jamie Foxx who played Ray Charles in Ray.  I hadn’t been impressed with his acting ability until I watched him portray Mr. Charles.  Same reaction here.  Same with Brad Pitt.  Before I’d seen his acting, I thought he was just another holy shit what a pretty face.  When I saw him act, particularly in 12 Monkeys and then everything he’s ever done, he blew me away.

Will portrayed Chris Gardner, whose real-life story simply needed to be told, in my opinion.  I’d not heard of Mr. Gardner until now and after having seen a piece of his life onscreen and interviews with the man himself, I have to add him to my short list of heroes. 

This movie has been called inspirational, a true rags-to-riches story but I would label it, above all, a love story.  The love of a father for his son is what drove Chris Garner.  A lesser man could not have survived the tests and trials.  His focus and drive came solely from his desire to provide a safe and comfortable life for his son.  As an added bonus, Gardner’s son was played by Will’s real son, Jaden.  Here, again, is the trailer for The Pursuit of Happyness.  I was glad to have seen it on DVD rather than in the theatre, simply because of the Special Features option which gave me the chance to see Chris Gardner interviewed and interacting with the cast on the set.  PD was as impressed as I was. 

10 responses to “NO MATTER HOW YOU SPELL IT…

  1. Ditto. I fully agree with your movie review. I want to rent it on dvd now, as I saw it in the theatre, and feel somewhat jipped(sp?). However, I must say Will smith has always been a fine actor no matter what role he plays, be it funny or serious.

  2. definitely my newest favorite movie too!!! i wrote this post about it.

    i too judge my own movies, i don’t usually agree with the “critics” anyways.

    my favorite part at the end when the first thing he does is go and hug his son. that is awesome.

  3. i guess my html link didn’t work. oh well, here’s the link for the post i wrote about it:

    http://dailypiglet.wordpress.com/2007/01/07/pursuit-of-happyness/

  4. Will definitely is good, and it seems he’s a good guy, too. I can’t find it right now, but just this week I read a story that listed Will Smith’s movies and how much they’ve grossed. That has nothing to do (usually) with the quality of the acting, but it’s dang impressive.

    As much as a part of me doesn’t want to like actors who attract fans just because they’re cute, I can’t help liking Brad Pitt’s on-screen work. He’s just plain good at what he does.

  5. I am still waiting to see it. Glad you liked it that makes me feel better about renting it!

  6. Lori, I promise you’ll be glad you did.

    Piglet, I didn’t realize you posted on this, will read it. The part you’re talking about was soooo great.

    Mark, I’m thrilled you agree w/me about Brad. A lot of people don’t give him a chance just because he is so pretty…

    Jeff, I know you’ll love it.

  7. I haven’t seen it yet, but Tosh got it so I’m gonna borrow it! From seeing the previews I have a feeling that I’m going to need an entire box of tissue!

  8. I haven’t seen Pursuit of Happyness yet, although it is at the top of my Netflix queue.

    I, too, thought Brad Pitt was just a pretty face until I saw him in Fight Club, now one of my favorite movies.

  9. Alvis, lemme know what you think after you watch it.

    Glad you’re with me on the Brad thing. Fight Club is one of my favorite movies too. People look at me funny when I say that, but… hey. I saw it maybe three times before I bought it and maybe have watched it 5 more times since.

  10. Natalie, I only cried two or three times. But that’s me. It’s worth a whole box of Kleenex, but I don’t think you’ll need that many… Happy Easter to you and the boys! And tell Tosh hi for me.

Leave a Reply

